Uncategorized

Teaching Design: Creating a Leprechaun Trap with My Nephew For St. Patrick’s Day

For St. Patrick’s Day, my nephew was given an assignment to make a Leprechaun Trap. My sister, not really knowing what to make of the assignment asked me if I could help. I thought this would be a great opportunity to utilize my design skills and show my nephew how to go about designing something from an idea into a reality. I’m sure a five year old will totally understand this ;D

I started off by having my nephew draw out different kinds of traps and having him decide which one he would want to create. This is what he came up with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By having him draw out his ideas I explained that it will help him come up with different ideas, help him to decide what kind of a trap he wants,  and what was feasible to create in the time span he was given. We decided on having the leprechaun fall into a covered hole as he heads toward a pot of gold, but also added in some other elements from the other ideas he drew. The end result is adorable.

IMG_6309IMG_2142

It was a lot of fun helping my nephew create his leprechaun trap. It was great seeing my nephews imagination spark with different ideas through his drawings, and seeing the end result of his work.

Leave a Reply

