Graphic Arts and Design

Coupon Creation:Working In A Real Life Senario

For the past couple of weeks our class has been at work crating layouts for coupons for a coupon book that has been requested by a real life client. It has been interesting to work in a real life scenario having to create something specific that meets a clients guidelines. Although there are these stipulations in place, I still feel a sense of creativity in how I can make a coupon look.

From this experience, I found that simply using logos, pictures and text that screams savings is not enough to make a coupon. There is a certain style that a coupon has, and finding that layout that makes a coupon a coupon was challenging and took the most amount of work to get right.

I also found that printing out my work helped me to visualize what I really wanted from my creation. I wanted the coupons to be quite large so that visually impaired users could see the coupon well. Although I loved the size when it was finally printed (about a 9×6), it was brought to my attention that the size may be impractical for travel. Printing also helped me to see where certain aspects, like the colored edging, needed to be placed, and that I needed to move certain aspects further into the box in order to get the right look.

This project was fun to work on, and I like being able to make something that pertains to a real life scenario. I can’t wait for our client to see what everyone came up with and to hear his thoughts.

Below are the coupons that I came up with for the class. These are not real coupons, so please don’t try to use them. ;D

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 10.04.20 AM

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 10.04.43 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-30 at 10.04.36 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-30 at 10.04.52 AM

Leave a Reply

